Aquatic Invasive Species Committee

Second-Term Co-Chair:  Luci Cook-Hildreth, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

First-Term Co-Chair: Curtis Tackett, Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation

In 2003 MICRA began hosting the Mississippi River Basin Panel (MRBP) on Aquatic Nuisance Species (ANS) as part of a national network of 6 regional panels (i.e. Great Lakes, Gulf and South Atlantic, Mid-Atlantic, Northeast, and Western), organized under authority of the National ANS Task Force, headquartered in Washington, D.C.  The ANS Task Force was established by the Nonindigenous Aquatic  Nuisance Prevention and Control Act of 1990. The National ANS Program is intended to coordinate governmental efforts related to ANS in  the United States with  those of the private sector and other North American interests.

The ANS Task Force invited MICRA to begin sponsoring the MRBP in 2001.  An organizational strategy was developed by MICRA and approved by the ANS Task Force in 2002, and an MRBP organizational meeting was held in July 2003.  At the  end of 2003 MICRA voted to deactiviate its own Aquatic Invasive Species Committee, and to coordinate its ANS activities through the MRBP.  However, since actions of the ANS Task Force and the MRBP fall under regulation of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, MICRA will maintain its autonomy with regard to actions it takes on specific ANS issues.  Thus, positions and actions taken by the MRBP and MICRA with regard to various ANS issues may not always parallel one another. 

For more information on the MRBP visit